Destination Unknown · Long term travel · Uncategorized · Urban Exploring

Getting Started: Farpoint 55L Backpack

Farpoint 55L with detachable daypack to the left.
Farpoint 55L with detachable daypack to the left.

After previously trying on a 38L, 48L, and 50L I decided that I would rather something in between the 38L and 48L. I chose to try my first session of ‘test packing’ with the Farpoint 55L Osprey. I chose this bag because: it’s side loading, lockable, has a good ventilation system and comes with a detachable daypack. However, I realized after loading it up that I needed something slightly different. Which is why it’s important to test more than one bag and to develop an understanding of what your individual packing needs are.

Flap unzipped and shoulder and waist straps exposed.
Flap unzipped shoulder and waist straps exposed.

This is the same compartment that you use to hide away your backpack straps if you need to check the Farpoint 55L. Which is a really nice feature. I’m looking for a similar feature in the travel pack I decide on. I’d prefer one that didn’t zip though, that flap really annoyed me at first. However, It appears that there’s a velcro compartment at the bottom that you can tuck it inside of.

Unzipped front of the main bag demonstrating the mesh organization and main compartment.
Unzipped front of the main bag demonstrating the mesh organization and main compartment.
Close up
Close up

This bag does offer slightly more internal organization than some other luggage style travel bags. Many of the common brands you’ll see don’t offer as much versatility for the interior compartment. Some of the more expensive and well crafted bags do, Tom Bihn bags for example and Minaal. The bag retains, some, shape without being full. But travel materials like packing cubes (Pack It and eBags, are good options for quality)  or compression sacks (Gear Pack It and Sea to Summit ) are probably advised maximizing the space in this bag.

Back of both bags.
Back of both bags.

Features I enjoyed
– Heavy duty zippers on the main bag
-Really well padded hip straps (life saver for petite women)
– Laptop compartment in detachable daypack (doesn’t lock though)
– Spacer mesh back panel (available on most Osprey’s and helps to allow airflow between you and your pack)
– Internal organizational features of both bags

I exchanged this bag because I realized after it came and I tested out  various features that I was looking for something else. I liked the detachable daypack; but after seeing myself carrying a backpack on the front and back of me, there was NO way I was going to continue with that look for months on end.

Photobooth Photos
It’s just not a good look for me.

I also realized that the fact that the detachable daypack didn’t lock, was actually a bigger problem for me than I anticipated.  Not only does it not lock, but the bag itself doesn’t have any support at all, it’s basically a sac. A glaring problem for someone who is lugging around heavy film equipment. My equipment won’t get any support from the bag and will likely wear down the material faster. I wouldn’t have realized this without physically testing it out.
The pack itself is really well padded and has that nifty suspension system that allows for the breathing room between your back and the pack (glorious!). However, The pack is bigger than what I really anticipated lugging around. I’m hoping to use a main bag that’s still ‘carry on compliant’, and at 25 x 13 x 12 (HxWxD) it’s not going to meet that requirement at full capacity. Some people who have written reviews about their experience with the Farpoint 55L, have been able to get onto various airlines with minimal hassle others weren’t so lucky.
It’s a bit dicy.
Which also depends on whether you have the XS/S or M/L, it’s a bit more likely to get away with sneaking on a heavier XS/S without checking it than a M/L.
Now these qualities may not be a problem for someone with different needs, and for them this backpack may be perfect!
There are plenty of travel bloggers who have raved about this bag (part of the reason I decided to test it out).
But in the end, I just really needed something different.
Photo on 2014-07-30 at 23.03 #3Photo on 2014-07-30 at 23.03 #5

One thought on “Getting Started: Farpoint 55L Backpack

  1. Bummer this bag wasn’t exactly what you wanted. The small is 23 inches and we use it as a carry on. Same size as my Ozone Convertible that is sold as carry on compliant. I was nervous until we had the bag and could measure/ compare!

Leave a Reply

