Destination Unknown · Long term travel · Travel Hacking · Uncategorized

Getting Started: Osprey Farpoint 40L

IMG_4603
Front of the bag
IMG_4611
Main internal compartment

I purchased the Osprey Farpoint 40L from Back Country Gear, they had really efficient shipping and this backpack arrived a full day before it was scheduled to be delivered. Visually, the Osprey Farpoint 40L is exactly the same as the Osprey Farpoint 55L, but smaller. However, one major difference is that the Osprey 40L comes with a padded laptop compartment that locks with a TSA approved lock. Another, smaller, difference is that the front of the Osprey Farpoint 40L comes with two pockets for water bottles. This feature isn’t on the Osprey Farpoint 55L.

Laptop compartment
Laptop compartment

Utilizing Pac it sacs and Packing cubes, I was able to fit more than enough clothing, and chargers into my main backpack compartment.

One pac it cube set (small, medium, and large). One extra Pac It Cube small. One small Pac It Sac, and one Pac It Spector Cube.
One pac it cube set (small, medium, and large). One extra Pac It Cube small. One small Pac It Sac, and one Pac It Spector Cube.

The zippers on the main and accessory compartments lock, which is worth mentioning more than once. It’s a side-loading bag, and has a really small pocket on the very front (which doesn’t lock), but is great for small things you need immediately [i.e. tickets, boarding passes etc.]. The small red clip is for any keys you may need to keep track of easily.

IMG_4616
Small outer pocket

I use mine to store things like, tarot cards, sage etc. mainly ritual items that I knew I would have to check my bag in order to bring onto my flight.
Having the option to zip up the straps was really helpful on my initial flight from Boston-England, in which I had to check my bag due to the above contents!
IMG_4604

IMG_4608
Voila! It’s ready to be slipped into the undercarriage!

I kept this bag, because it isn’t too top-heavy and fits me comfortably. Both main compartments are lockable, and the laptop sleeve is a nice touch.
As for my ‘day bag’, I went with a military bag that I stitched a back patch onto. When traveling with both, I can choose to carry this bag by the handle, instead of weighing myself down by carrying both items directly on my person.
Which makes my life easier.

IMG_4739
Front of the day pack
Inside. There is also a padded laptop sleeve in this bag.
Inside. There is also a padded laptop sleeve in this bag.
Leave a Reply

